Clark Terry: Music in The Garden (Live at the Museum of Modern Art, 1968)

Bass – Larry Ridley
Drums – Dave Bailey
Flugelhorn – Clark Terry
Piano – Don Friedman
Tenor Saxophone – Zoot Sims
Trumpet – Clark Terry

Recorded August 1968 in the Garden of the Museum of Modern Art, New York City.
The title of this LP gets its name from the location of the concert, which took place in the garden of New York's Museum of Modern Art. Clark Terry put together a pickup group for this August 1968 performance, and with musicians of the caliber of Zoot Sims, Don Friedman, Larry Ridley, and Dave Bailey; things came together very nicely. Terry and Sims had, of course, worked together on a number of previous occasions, and most of the tunes were very familiar to everyone. The spirited opener, "Now's the Time," has some great unison playing by Terry and Sims. Many of the songs which follow are gems from the Duke Ellington playbook, again no surprise since Terry served with the maestro between 1951 and 1959. The extended workout of "Satin Doll" is a bit unusual, though the musicians never run short of ideas. Terry's vocal-like muted trumpet is the focus of "I Got It Bad (And That Ain't Good)," while his effective gimmick of alternating between a muted trumpet in one hand and a flügelhorn in the other is the centerpiece of "In a Mellotone," backed by Ridley's tasty bassline. Terry's impromptu blues "One Two Blues, You Know What to Do" features his hilarious scat vocals, and they sign off with a quick chorus of "Take the 'A' Train." --Ken Dryden, AllMusic Guide



1    Now's The Time        09:20
2    Satin Doll    12:48
3    I Got It Bad And That Ain't Good   06:28
4    In A Mellow Tone   11:36
5    One Two Blues, You Know What To Do  07:46
6    Just Squeeze Me    09:31
7    Take The "A" Train      01:04